Jack Sullivan Wins COMP Cams Super Dirt Series 2018 Opener

Jack Sullivan in victory lane. Photos by Jim DenHamer.

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series (CCSDS) presented by Lucas Oil lifted the lid on Saturday evening at Jerry Hoffman’s Springfield Raceway.

Defending CCSDS Champion, Jack Sullivan surged forward from the fourth-starting spot to take the lead from B.J. Robinson halfway through the feature. Once out front, Sullivan walked away to claim his 25th career triumph by a straightaway. Ninth-starting Gavin Landers marched to a runner-up finish with Robert Baker, Jesse Stovall and Payton Looney completing the Top-5 finishers as the tour made its debut at the Missouri oval.

Tony Jackson Jr. earned the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger Award after passing 11 cars to finish sixth. CCSDS regular for 2018, Shannon Scott was the recipient of the Henryetta Ford Hard Luck Award after mechanical issues forced him to scratch from the feature.

Earlier in the night Raymond Merrill earned the New Vision Graphics position for the 40-lap, $3,000-to-win finale after winning a “March Madness” themed free throw competition amongst the top point earners from heat race action.

Next up for the traveling stars of the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series is an Arkansan double shot on March 23-24. For the first time since 2014 the tour returns to Harrisburg, Arkansas’ Old No. 1 Speedway (formerly Northeast Arkansas Speedway) on Friday, March 23 when a $2,000-to-win event will be contested.

Photo gallery


One night later – on Saturday, March 24 – the tour will invade Tracey Clay’s I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, Arkansas). The CCSDS will sanction the second annual Will McGary Memorial. The $2,500-to-win program will see NASCAR Hall of Famer Mark Martin in attendance. He will sign autographs from 5 p.m. – 7 p.m before serving as the evening’s Grand Marshal.

For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil, please visit www.COMPDirt.com.

COMP Cams Super Dirt Series – March 10, 2018
Springfield Raceway (Springfield, MO)

Feature Results 
1)Jack Sullivan 2)Gavin Landers 3)Robert Baker 4)Jesse Stovall 5)Payton Looney 6)Tony Jackson Jr. 7)Raymond Merrill 8)B.J. Robinson 9)Hunter Rasdon 10)Logan Martin 11)Austin Rettig 12)Chad Mallet 13)Robby Moore 14)David Payne 15)Don Cloyd 16)Dewayne Kiefer 17)Travis Ashley 18)Scott Crigler

DNS: Caeden Cornell, Jake Davis,, Shannon Scott

Entries: 21
Black Diamond Chassis Heat Race #1 Winner: Payton Looney
Allen Manufacturing Heat Race #2 Winner: Jack Sullivan
KARR Transportation Heat Race #3 Winner: Raymond Merrill
New Vision Graphics Pole Sitter: Raymond Merrill
Henryetta Ford Hard Luck Award: Shannon Scott
Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger: Tony Jackson Jr. (17th-6th)
COMP Cams Top Performer: Jack Sullivan

Dirt Track Racing delivered to your Inbox Weekly!

Build your own custom newsletter with the content you love from OneDirt, directly to your inbox, absolutely FREE!

Free WordPress Themes

We will safeguard your e-mail and only send content you request.