Fortney Captures First Victory as Midwest DIRTcar Late Models Make First Visit to Brill’s Motor Speedway. Photo Gallery by Mike Howard

Fortney in Victory Lane. (Photo courtesy of Mike Howard)

A visit to Brill’s Motor Speedway by the Midwest DIRTcar Late Model Series produced two first-time events Saturday night. Not only was it the series’ first visit to the Meeker, Okla., race facility, but the night also saw a first-time winner, as Brad Fortney captured his first career series victory.

The night wasn’t all smooth sailing for Fortney. He was caught in a first-lap pileup on the backstretch sending him to the rear of the field.  It took one more attempt at a start before the race was officially underway and Fortney was able to begin his trek back to the front.

Texas driver Bryan Sugg took the lead on the second lap of the race and began to open up a comfortable lead. But Sugg’s night would come to end early as mechanical problems left him stalled on the track.

By the time the caution came out for Sugg, Fortney had worked his way to third behind Richard Leatherman. Fortney and Leatherman each moved up a position with the exit of Sugg, and on the restart, Fortney was able to move around Leatherman for the lead. Cale Gottschalk was also able to slip by to take the second position. Fortney held off Gottschalk at the finish to the take the win. Leatherman held on for the third-place finish followed by Cliff Morrow in fourth and Mark Brill in fifth.

Sugg also took the win in the Alternative Pest Management Cash Dash as well as his heat race. Gary Gorby won the other heat race earlier in the night.

The series now moves on to the Thunderbird Speedway in Muskogee, Oklahoma on Saturday night July 3 as part of the Speedway’s 4th of July celebration.

For more information on the Midwest DIRTcar Late Model Series please visit or call 336-DIRTCAR

RESULTS: 1. 59 Brad Fortney, 2. 28C Cale Gottschalk, 3. 16 Richard Leatherman, 4. 99 Cliff Morrow, 5. 95 Mark Brill, 6. 56 Darin Busch, 7. 18 Bryan Sugg, 8. 81 Doug Sieh, 9. B1 Brian Bolster, 10. 19 Damien Patocka, 11. 25T Tyler Gottschalk, 12. 7C Gary Gorby, 13. 20 Ron Grover – DNS, 14. 60 Kip Hughes – DNS.

Photo Gallery From Brill’s Motor Speedway.  The following photos are courtesy of Mike Howard:

Article Sources

Dirt Track Racing delivered to your Inbox Weekly!

Build your own custom newsletter with the content you love from OneDirt, directly to your inbox, absolutely FREE!

Free WordPress Themes

We will safeguard your e-mail and only send content you request.