Arctic Cat All Stars Unleash ’17 Docket

2017 All Star Circuit of Champions schedule released
Major events return; Ohio Sprint Speedweek features eight events in nine days

(Special to Tyler Altmeyer)

Sheldon Haudenschild (93) and Chad Kemenah (10) battle at Millstream.

Sheldon Haudenschild (93) and Chad Kemenah (10) battle at Millstream.

The All Star Circuit of Champions will take on a full slate of competition in 2017, complete with 51 events at 32 facilities in eight states, all of which taking shape between early February and mid-October. All Star competitors will visit facilities throughout much of the upper Midwest and Northeast during their upcoming travels, circling areas of Florida, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Indiana, Illinois, Wisconsin, Michigan, and New York. As customary, the 2017 season will ignite with an eight-day campaign in the Sunshine State, complete with five events between February 9 and February 16 at Bubba Raceway Park and Volusia Speedway Park.

“I think I speak for everyone when I say we are more than excited to get the 2017 season underway,” Tony Stewart said, All Star Circuit of Champions owner. “It takes a lot of hard work and coordination to put a full season together. With the help from all of the tracks and their officials, I think we have the foundation for an exciting year.”

Returning to the All Star schedule in 2017 is an extended list of premier open wheel events, most of which awarding high dollar paydays. Premier events returning in 2017 include Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket; the Lou Blaney Memorial at Sharon Speedway; Atomic Speedway’s Open Wheel Championship; the Dirt Classic Ohio at Attica Raceway Park; the Second Annual Pete Jacobs Memorial at Wayne County Speedway; Tuscarora 50 weekend in Port Royal, Pennsylvania; and a pair of Eldora Speedway showcases: 4-Crown Nationals and Sprintacular.

2015 Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions LogoA total of four events will exceed the standard All Star winner’s share of $5,000 in 2017. The Pete Jacobs Memorial, Dirt Classic Ohio and the Open Wheel Championship finale will each award a $10,000 top prize, while Port Royal Speedway’s historic Tuscarora 50, celebrating its 50th anniversary next September, will award an unprecedented $50,000 after 50 laps of green flag competition; the largest All Star winner’s share of 2017.

The 2017 edition of Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket will feature eight nights of competition, competing at eight different race tracks throughout all four corners of the Buckeye State. Slated to take shape between Friday, June 16, and Saturday, June 24, the 35th Annual Ohio Sprint Speedweek schedule will visit Attica Raceway Park, Eldora Speedway, Waynesfield Raceway Park, Wayne County Speedway, Sharon Speedway, Muskingum County Speedway, Limaland Motorsports Park, and Atomic Speedway. If needed, the off day scheduled for Wednesday, June 21, will be utilized as a rain date. Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket went uninterrupted in 2016, awarding seven different main event winners in eight contested events.

Angell Park Speedway in Sun Prairie, Wisconsin; Outlaw Speedway in Dundee, New York; and Merritt Speedway in Lake City, Michigan, will each host All Star competition for the first time ever in 2017. The inaugural Angell Park Speedway appearance will act as the second of two Interstate Racing Association (IRA) Sprint Car Series challenge events against the All Star Circuit of Champions. Wilmot Raceway in Wilmot, Wisconsin, will activate the weekend on Saturday, May 20, followed by Angell Park on Sunday, May 21.

Outlaw Speedway will join Orange County Fair Speedway and Lebanon Valley Speedway for a New York triple-header on Friday through Sunday,  July 28-July 30, while Merritt Speedway will act as the second of two Michigan appearances during the June 30-July 1 weekend; the only two Michigan appearances for the All Stars in 2017.

Pennsylvania will host the All Star Circuit of Champions on 16 separate occasions in 2017 spread amongst six different weekend swings. “America’s Series” will tread through areas of Western Pennsylvania and Central Pennsylvania during their treks to the Keystone State, attempting to continue a stretch of success in Pennsylvania that includes six main event victories for the All Stars in 2016. Major events headlined in Pennsylvania include the Keith Kauffman Classic at Port Royal Speedway, the I-79 Summer Shootout at Eriez Speedway/Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway/Tri-City Raceway Park, and the historic Tuscarora 50.

“We have a lot of great events lined up, as well as plans to visit new areas,” Tony said. “I think the fans are in for something very special in 2017. I’m excited to get to Florida.”


Dirt Track Racing delivered to your Inbox Weekly!

Build your own custom newsletter with the content you love from OneDirt, directly to your inbox, absolutely FREE!

Free WordPress Themes

We will safeguard your e-mail and only send content you request.